2016 AAUP Annual Meeting: Censure and Sanction Actions

Faculty members and staff from the UConn-AAUP attended the 102nd Annual meeting of the AAUP in Washington, DC. Among other business, the delegation voted on imposing censure at two universities and removed censure from another two colleges. Most notably, censure was removed from Grove City College (Pennsylvania) having been initially placed on the list in 1963 at the 49th Annual meeting.

Censure is recommended by the AAUP Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure if an investigation into a university administration demonstrates that the administration is not observing the generally recognized principles of academic freedom and tenure approved by the AAUP in it’s 1940 Statement of Principles on Academic Freedom and Tenure.

For more about censure, visit What is Censure? on the AAUP website.

2016 Censure and Sanction Actions

Washington, DC—Today, delegates to the 102nd Annual Meeting of the AAUP voted to place the College of Saint Rose in New York and the University of Missouri (Columbia) on the AAUP’s list of administrations censured for violating standards of academic freedom and tenure. The annual meeting also voted to remove from the censure list two institutions that had taken the necessary steps to address the AAUP’s outstanding concerns: Metropolitan Community College in Missouri and Grove City College in Pennsylvania. Grove City College had been on the censure list since 1963, longer than any other institution. However, the annual meeting did not approve a conditional removal of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign from its censure list.

Censure by the AAUP informs the academic community that the administration of an institution has violated generally recognized principles and standards of academic freedom and tenure. The full list of censured administrations is available here. Full recommendations by the AAUP’s Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure to the annual meeting, as well as the original investigating committee reports, can be found here.

Delegates to the meeting voted to add Union County College in New Jersey and the University of Iowa to its list of institutions sanctioned for violating AAUP-supported standards of academic government. Delegates also voted to remove Lindenwood University in Missouri from the list. Sanction by the AAUP informs the academic community of infringements of generally accepted governance standards after investigations reveal serious departures by the administration and/or governing board from those standards. More information on sanctioned institutions is here. Full recommendations by the Committee on College and University Governance to the annual meeting, as well as the original investigating committee reports, can be found here.

Newly Censured Institutions

The College of Saint Rose (New York)
University of Missouri (Columbia)

Censure Removals

Grove City College (Pennsylvania)
Metropolitan Community College (Missouri)

Newly Sanctioned Institutions

Union County College (New Jersey)
University of Iowa

Sanction Removals

Lindenwood University (Missouri)


The mission of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is to advance academic freedom and shared governance; to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education; to promote the economic security of faculty, academic professionals, graduate students, post‐doctoral fellows, and all those engaged in teaching and research in higher education; to help the higher education community organize to make our goals a reality; and to ensure higher education’s contribution to the common good. Founded in 1915, the AAUP has helped to shape American higher education by developing the standards and procedures that maintain quality in education and academic freedom in this country’s colleges and universities.

Media Contact:
Laura Markwardt – lmarkwardt@aaup.org / 202-594-3635
Publication Date:
Saturday, June 18, 2016